What is your library?

I found the image above on this blog.  I was interested that that the word reading was so small.  These things work on the number of times a word crops up, the more times it sees the word in the document the bigger it gets.  I was a bit shocked.  While I am all about shiny new toys, information literacy and all the new things we can do in the library especially the technology, there is a big part of my job which is all about the reading.  Without the reading I’d lose my mojo, the biggest thrill for me is still the connection of brain with book or reading material.  Right book at the right time, that is something that makes me very proud.  Engaging the student who has practised reading avoidance all his life and who was lurking at the back of the library during a booktalk, he comes up and grabs the book before anyone else can get it.  I love that.

I’m interested in what you guys think about this.  Is reading still your reason de et re?  How you get the blend of bookish goodness and technology working together?  Is it a natural mix?

In my opinion (and as always I’m happy to share it) a modern school library runs the risk of only being seen for one or the other. Technology and information seeking or the book reading place.   So, my booktalks are snappy, sassy and slightly surreal, but my skills on a computer are also well and truly on show, but often not to the same people, or with the same students, I think many of them see me as one thing or the other,  when I want them to see me as both, something for me to work on.  How does it work for you guys?

, , ,

  1. #1 by ayucht on August 30, 2011 - 9:16 PM

    Although reading is already embedded into many of those words, what’s missing in this infographic is “imagination.” THAT’s what carries personal reading interests along.

  2. #2 by Laura on August 31, 2011 - 5:29 PM

    I made the graphic (and wrote the essay that inspired it)! It’s been fun to see the reactions at school and now online. The essay that generated that graphic was a job application statement that was very much focused on the tech/teaching context and the “shiny new things” that I, as a candidate, could bring to the table. While I do think that technology and information literacy are vastly important (and exciting), books and reading (and booktalks/reader’s advisory) are also at the heart of my role as a librarian. I’m especially excited and interested to find ways to bridge technology and reading because I think that literacy today requires both. I believe that they complement one another too, since technology presents opportunities for readers to connect, form communities and explore exciting new ways of storytelling forms for reading.

    I guess what I originally meant to say was that I do no consider that tag cloud to represent my job as a whole. When people ask me why I became a librarian, I always tell them that it is because librarianship combines three of my dearest passions–books, helping people and technology. If I made that into a tag cloud though, it wouldn’t be quite as pretty though 🙂

Leave a Reply

