Blogging 101

Lots of people want to blog (see this post) (or this one) and there are lots and lots of helpful places you can go online to get instructions, including at the various blog providers, but I thought this blog worth taking a look at if you are keen to head down the Blogger route.  Nice clear instructions and fantastic images and screen shots to help you along the way, great embedded document with helpful stuff in there too.  It is called Bling For Your Blog and the blogger is Allanah King of Moturoa Classroom at Appleby School.  She has some great links to her other blogs and presentations on there too.  In fact Allanah King is a bit of an ICT legend.  Check out this article from New Zealand Educational Review, posted on her other blog.  Awesome.

One thing to note:  This is done with the Old Blogger stylings.  The new Blogger stylings are much stylier, and easier to work with.  Now you won’t get the option to choose the older style, if you haven’t blogged on your blogger account for a while you might find the video below helpful.

  1. #1 by Steph on November 28, 2011 - 9:56 PM

    Hi Bridget
    I notice that you use Blogger for your school library blog and WordPress for this one. I used to have a Blogger account for my classroom blog, but was wondering if I should move to Edublogs for my school library one (not sure if the school network allows Blogger?). How do you find the two different blogs that you use? Brief pros and cons of each?

  2. #2 by Bridget Schaumann on November 28, 2011 - 10:52 PM

    Hi Steph,
    Blogger: Pros: easy, great for beginners, nicely connecty to all my other Google products, one log in fits all. The King’s Blog sits there because that is where it started. Cons: I want more groovy templates, and more bells and whistles.
    WordPress: Pros: Lovely templates, nice access to stats etc (blogger now has similar but it has taken a while), WP gets tweeked all the time to make it better, love the way it connects to other blogs. My other blogs sit here because I wanted to try it (back in the day). Cons: Embedding stuff can be a pain (eg the docstock item I wanted to put in this post!) you can do it but it is less user friendly. Same with getting lots of widgets to work in here, you have to look for a WP friendly widget.

    I think, have a go at each of them (or Tumblr or Posterous or Edublogs) and see what you think. I’ve never tried Edublogs but Miriam has one there and maybe she will leap into the conversation.
    Cheers

  3. #3 by Allanah King on November 28, 2011 - 10:54 PM

    Hi there

    Thanks for the link to my blogs.

    I did think of re-writing the Bling with the new screen grabs but it seemed like such a lot of work.

    I will have to give it some serious consideration.

    Thanks for the mention.

  4. #4 by Miriam Tuohy on November 29, 2011 - 11:36 PM

    Hi Steph. I use edublogs for my school library blog (which has been languishing horribly this year, I should say). In the beginning I was just fairly ho-hum with it on account of the ads, but now that they are a thing of the past I do like it. The book club kids are OK working on it too, since many of them have used edublogs for their ePortfolios here at school. http://rsslibrary.edublogs.org
    I would say that if you want to customise the look of your blog, then go with blogger. WordPress /edublog themes don’t give you the same ability to modify the blog. The SLANZA blog is on blogger, with the colours and the layout tweaked so that it fits within the constraints of the space allowed where it is embedded into the main SLANZA website. You can see what I mean here http://slanzablog.blogspot.com and here http://slanza.org.nz/news.html
    I also really like how you can look at a blogspot blog using the various views, it gives you an interesting way of evaluating your content, I think. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lpDQF2lFnBU

  5. #5 by Steph on November 30, 2011 - 1:09 AM

    Thanks, Bridget and Miriam for your helpful advice. I will have a play over the Christmas break so that I’m ready to launch in 2012!

  6. #6 by Steph on February 22, 2012 - 9:49 PM

    Another Blog 101 question, sorry!! Related to copyright.

    If you put in bookcovers with your text are there copyright issues with that? Or are the publishers okay with it, given that we’re giving them free publicity?

    Thanks!

    • #7 by Bridget Schaumann on February 23, 2012 - 9:20 AM

      Hi Steph, if you are a SLANZA member you have permission to use a bunch of images from large numbers of publishers – the list is on the SLANZA website. If you email me: sc@kingshigh.school.nz I can reply more fully. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

