NZ Book Council Video – Books Shape You

Sit down, turn up your sound, and watch yet another video, this time beautifully made, atmospheric and clever.  Well done NZ Book Council!  Share the love, let them know that you like it.  Their Facebook Page is well worth joining and while you’re at it join Booksellers NZ’s Facebook page too.

,

  1. #1 by Donna Watt on February 7, 2012 - 11:25 PM

    Nice! And they do, too! The one that shaped me irrevocably was Catcher in the rye – set text, fifth form. Adored it, had always been a reader, but that one turned me on to a lifelong love of YA lit. And made me a lifelong fan of teachers brave enough to tackle banned books in school precisely because they work!

    • #2 by Bridget Schaumann on February 8, 2012 - 6:38 AM

      I’ve been trying to think which book it was that shaped me, I remember in Standard 4, aged about 9, I discovered The Little House On The Prairie on the shelves of our classroom library, no school library in my primary school. I discovered the joy of the book series! I played at being Laura, I loved the isolation, the independence, the hatred of the drudgery of housework, and I loved all the stories of keeping the stores in the pantry and preserving and growing things to eat. I wasn’t impressed with the namby pamby girly sister! Hmm! Now I am someone who is happy in their own company, loves to cook and preserve, hates other housework, loves gardening and is a bit of an independent spirit. OMG I’m channelling Laura!

      Over the years I have been melded and shaped by so many others, The Sparrow, Go Ask Alice, Anne Frank, Doris Lessing and recently Malcolm Gladwell, but Little House got me hooked, and probably helped to form me. Thanks Laura Ingalls Wilder!

  2. #3 by AngelaS on February 9, 2012 - 1:18 AM

    I couldn’t name one book on its own that shaped my thinking or atttitude to learning or knowledge of the world and human beings. I would say every book I have read has taught me something; even the ‘scare you witless’ thrillers and mysteries. However, many biographies teach more – possibly because they are presented in a more didactic style and the authors and subjects of them are willing to analyse how they got where they are today – so I think in that respect Che Guevara is an excellent choice for the video.

  3. #4 by Greig Daniels on February 9, 2012 - 7:56 PM

    Probably ‘The Hobbit’. It was being read to us in class, and the teacher wasn’t reading it fast enough. I had to seek out my own copy. from then on it was fantasy and science fiction all the way. But i have fond memories of Blyton, and lots of other series. One of the books that had a profound effect on me was “One Hundred years of Solitude”. Its always the first one that pops into my head when I’m asked that horrible question “What’s your favourite book?.

  4. #5 by Saskia Hill on February 9, 2012 - 8:30 PM

    ‘The Phantom Tollbooth’ for me. It fuelled my love for language at a young age and is contributed to my choosing Linguistics as one of my degrees at Uni! Also, The ‘Wizard of Earthsea’ trilogy, and June Opie’s ‘Over my dead body’ have left their mark on me; the former as it scared me half to death but compelled me to read on (presumable re-reading it now would prove it is probably tamer than I remember!) and the latter pulled me in and taught me that life isn’t fair (a big lesson to learn from a book at a time when a teenager’s catch cry is “It’s not FAIR!”). For the same reason holocaust books also fascinate me and ‘Goodnight Mr. Tom’ makes me cry to this day..

  5. #6 by Bridget Schaumann on February 12, 2012 - 6:41 AM

    Thanks for the comments Angela, Greig and Saskia. Great to have you participate!

Leave a Reply

