What I did in the holidays

My summer break for 2012/2013 has come to an end, and it will be back to work as usual from Monday. I’ve had a lovely break away from school, spending time with family and friends, reading, getting things done around the house. For me, the school holidays over the last few years have also included doing a bunch of stuff for SLANZA, and this break is no different.

Soon we will be launching the next iteration of the SLANZA wiki – a new website that will stand alongside the recently redeveloped main site, so that’s been one of my holiday projects. Here’s a sneak preview of how it’s looking so far (click to embiggen):

SLANZA reading site

The other project that’s taking shape is a new Professional Development programme for SLANZA members, urged on by our survey last year that showed 80% of respondents want PD around the use of online tools in school libraries. It’s a big project, and one that the SLANZA PD team are keen to deliver ASAP. As part of the programme design, we’ve been investigating the use of OpenBadges as a method of recognising and displaying the skills that  participants will learn as they progress through the course. Here’s a diagram I’ve made (using Triptico’s ‘hexagonal thinking’ tool Think Link) to show my thoughts about how this PD might connect with ‘what school librarians do’.

What school librarians do

I’d love to get your feedback on this, so please leave a comment with any thoughts or suggestions that you think could be incorporated. I tend to get a bit tunnel-vision-y at times, so if there are glaringly obvious omissions please help me fill them in!

  1. #1 by sengaw on January 26, 2013 - 1:32 PM

    Well done Miriam! These look fantastic! Your PD chart looks pretty comprehensive. My only suggestion would be to think about including something on ceative commons and copyright, especially in light of how this is being tackled at Wellington High. I also wondered about a separate block for conferences? Not just SLANZA but other relevant to librarians as well.

    • #2 by Miriam Tuohy on January 27, 2013 - 2:26 PM

      Thanks Senga. I ended up just putting “InfoLit” in as one of the other things school librarians do, with the idea that this covers digital literacy / creative commons / ethical use of info etc. Same with the Face to face block, I was thinking of conferences as part of that, but of course there are many online conferences you can participate in one way or another these days too. Will double check my notes to make sure they cover both your suggestions.
      The hexagonal thinking idea is cool, and the Think Link app is great to use. But each time I look at the diagram I see other ways I’d like to arrange it (e.g. I want “RSS Reader” to be touching “Professional learning”) – I’m thinking that maybe hex isn’t enough, we need octagonal thinking, or even dodecahedral thinking! 🙂

  2. #3 by Clare Forrest on January 27, 2013 - 12:55 PM

    It looks great Miriam. I really like the Think Link diagram – informative but visually easy on the eye. It looks like it will be easy to use.
    Keep it up! I look forward to it being a finished things. Thanks. Clare Forrest

    • #4 by Miriam Tuohy on January 27, 2013 - 2:37 PM

      Thanks Clare! One thing that really disappointed me about Think Link is that the “Save diagram” button doesn’t work, so you can save a *picture* but not save and then reload a diagram at a future time. Maybe I’ve got some type of technical issue, or perhaps they’ve removed that functionality; it must have worked at some point because I found this: http://hcchistory.wikispaces.com/The+Normans.

      There will be news about the wiki/website and the PD stuff on the SLANZA blog as we have more to share 🙂

  3. #5 by Ruawai Community Library on January 28, 2013 - 12:04 PM

    Great work ladies. I can’t wait to get my first badge. I really like how things are in manageable chunks and can be picked up as I go. Very clearly laid out and easy to follow. Keep leading the way!

Leave a Reply

