Dystopia – old and new

Readers advisory in my school this year, and last year too, has been all about finding books which are similar in style, or substance to The Hunger Games.  I’m really feeling like I could move on from reading this type of book myself but my students are clearly not ready for that yet.  So, as I firmly believe it is my job to keep up with what they want and not foist what I think they should want onto them, I am delighted that the Lawrence Public Library  of Kansas in the USA, has done me a terrific favour.  For a moment I thought this was the Lawrence in Central Otago, where I spent many happy teenage summers, sigh!  This link will take you to a fantastic flowchart of Hunger Gamesish delight, and it helpfully includes some fabulous classic books which you may not have thought of sharing with your HG fans.  I’ve only made a screenshot of a tiny part of the flowchart.  You will have to go to their website to see the whole impressive thing.  Enjoy!

Hunger Gamesish

Enhanced by Zemanta
,

  1. #1 by Steph Ellis on May 13, 2013 - 7:37 PM

    Thanks for sharing this, Bridget. I’m with you – totally over dystopia (and love triangles!) – but our students are still going strong too!

  2. #2 by Bridget Schaumann on May 13, 2013 - 8:25 PM

    Frustrating isn’t it Steph, I went book hunting today and tried to find some other choices and genre, but the publishers have decreed that we will have masses of dystopia, paranormal romance and there will little else. Sigh.

  3. #3 by Carole Gardiner on May 14, 2013 - 10:05 AM

    Thank you for sharing this great flow chart Bridget 🙂 I had seen the earlier version of it, so it’s great to be able to update it. Our students are not quite as into dystopia this year, but as you say, there is still some demand for it. (John Green, on the other hand is never on the shelf!)

  4. #4 by Ruawai Community Library on May 17, 2013 - 7:54 PM

    Still enjoying the odd dystopia – Wool & Shift – by Hugh Howey but I do agree it’s time to move along a bit. I do like this link, thanks.
    John Green all the way!
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

