A response to the question Why Don’t Kids Read NZ Young Adult?

I’m reblogging this from my own blog. Double the trouble. Comments welcome on this one. Go on, argue with me.

Bridget's Readings, Ramblings, Recipes and Randoms

Tonight I have read an article in the wonderful The Sapling which has made me cross.  I’m responding here because I’m forming my thoughts and this is my blog and therefore my opinion.  This is a bit stream of consciousness, so apologies for it’s rantishness.

In the article, promoting her book review site, Eirlys Hunter makes the argument that NZ kids don’t read young adult fiction written by New Zealanders. She asked teenagers if they had read Margaret Mahy, and they hadn’t heard of her.  I can assure her that she is right in supposing that teenagers currently at school right now will never have read Mahy or Tessa Duder or a heap of other NZ writers who were popular in the 90s. This is for a really good reason.  These books will have been weeded from libraries long ago. We have to keep our collections current, they have…

View original post 906 more words

  1. #1 by Bridget Schaumann on September 6, 2017 - 9:54 PM

    Agreeing with this completely. One of my biggest problems with the original the original post was the tone. I still want to address that. For me that was one of the major issues and was inherent in what I hate about the literary commentators in this country! I’m going to write more on this soon, but I’m keen for plenty of comment and discussion from school librarians. How do you feel about all this?

Leave a Reply

